Atlanta Hawks’ Mike Budenholzer Wins 2014-15 NBA Coach of the Year

at 3:26 pm | By
Mike Budenholzer of the Atlanta Hawks yells to his players during the first half against the Cleveland Cavaliers

(Photo by Jason Miller/Getty Images)

The NBA announced today (April 21) that the Atlanta Hawks’ Mike Budenholzer is the recipient of the Red Auerbach Trophy as the 2014-15 NBA Coach of the Year.

Leading the Hawks to the best regular season in franchise history, Budenholzer received 67 first-place votes and 513 total points from a panel of 130 sportswriters and broadcasters.

Head coach of the Golden State Warriors, Steve Kerr – who led his team to a franchise-record and NBA-high of 67 wins in his first season as an NBA coach – finished at a close second with 56 first-place votes and 471 total points.

Voting consists of the highest total of points: five points for each first-place vote, three points for each second-place vote and one point for each third-place vote.

Budenholzer led Atlanta to a 60-22 regular season record in his second year with the team as head coach. The Hawks earned the No. 1 playoff seed in the Eastern Conference for the first time since the 1993-94 season.

The award was well deserved since the Hawks really turned things around. Last season, the Hawks’ record was 38-44.

The Coach of the Year award is named after legendary coach and Hall-of-Famer Red Auerbach– who guided the Boston Celtics to nine NBA Championships.